Menu
Home Page

Active WOW!

The official walk to school initiatives of Walk on Wednesday and Active Bug have now been merged to create a new scheme which is adapted each year – for the 2017/18 academic year it will be called Active Wow.

 

 

This incorporates the best elements of both the previous schemes.

For the 2017-18 academic year, two additional initiatives can be accessed by schools using green travel;

Road Safety Skills Tests and Green Champions.

 

Walk To School Challenge

 

Walk on Wednesdays

 

Several new initiatives have been brought in to encourage the pupils to walk to school.
Walk on Wednesday has been very popular over the past few years and is growing every week.

School staff are also joining in by either walking to school or parking away from the school and walking the remainder of the way.

 

221 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 11th October 2017

205 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 18th October 2017

230 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 1st November 2017

201 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 8th November 2017

196 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 15th November 2017

207 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 22nd November 2017

195 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 29th November 2017

199 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 6th December 2017

179 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 13th December 2017

170 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 20th December 2017

183 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 10th January 2018

185 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 17th January 2018

222 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 24th January 2018

196 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 31st January 2018

182 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 7th February 2018

205 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 21st February 2018

189 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 7th March 2018

192 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 14th March 2018

196 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 21st March 2018

150 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 28th March 2018

199 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 18th April 2018

200 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 25th April 2018

191 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 2nd May 2018

190 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 9th May 2018

214 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 16th May 2018

198 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 23rd May 2018

212 pupils walked to school on Wednesday 6th June 2018

 

 

There are three special Walk to School Challenge dates, when prizes will be awarded to a class in each district that has the most pupils walking to school. The class will win a class trophy and each pupil will also be rewarded. The 'Walking Bug' will also visit the winning class.

 


 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


 

We have won the Platinum Green Travel Mark over the last 4 years!

 

It involved:

 

Taking part in the popular WOW (Walk on Wednesday) or Walking Bug  schemes running for the academic year.
Promoting the initiative to parents and providing feedback on results.
Conducting a hands up survey to assess green travel in the week in question.
Providing the survey figures to the KM Walk to School Team.

 

A member of the admin staff inputs this directly into KM web-based database.

 

In addition the school must demonstrate a long term commitment to green travel.

 

This can be achieved by agreeing to take up one of the KM Walk to School Team's schemes for three years.

Picture 1
Picture 2
Picture 3
Picture 4
Top